Buhlebendalo Drops A 13-tracks Album Titled “Chosi”

Buhlebendalo releases her debut solo album "Chosi"



    • Genre: World
    • Release Date: 2020-06-05
    • Explicitness: notExplicit
    • Country: ZAF
    • Track Count: 13
  • ℗ 2020 Native Rhythms (Pty) Ltd, under exclusive license to Universal Music (Pty) Ltd

Buhlebendalo aims to heal the nation with her beautiful solo album, “Chosi”.

Indeed what Mzansi needs right now is the kind of music that would heal its wounds. Thanks to former The Soil band member who figured this out and crafted her solo album, “Chosi” for that very purpose. She calls it ‘food’ to feed the spirits of a nation in need.

According to her, she’s aiming to heal the insides of the nation, the parts that everyone ignores. We applaud her efforts with this new album, and we hope it works wonders as she aims it to. Since she began her solo journey, Buhlebendalo has single-handedly made herself known to Mzansi with her music.

  • Buhlebendalo – Chosi Album Tracks

NO Title Artist Time
1 Vusela (feat. Mthetheleli Gong Buhlebendalo 2:23
2 Ntab’ezimnyama Buhlebendalo 4:45
3 Mdali Buhlebendalo 4:04
4 Nyamazane Buhlebendalo 3:54
5 Buya Azania Buhlebendalo 4:00
6 Bayangihleka Buhlebendalo 4:03
7 Khuphuka (feat. Madala Kunene) Buhlebendalo 4:11
8 Salute Buhlebendalo 3:56
9 Ilanga (feat. Sjava) Buhlebendalo 3:45
10 Nethisa Buhlebendalo 4:00
11 Iwotshi Buhlebendalo 3:14
12 Umenzani Buhlebendalo 4:09
13 Too Late for Mama Buhlebendalo 3:48

On this album she speaks out on various issues including Femicide, difficulties faced by women, and self healing. The project contains a total of 13 tracks and features Sjava, Madala Kunene, and Mthetheleli Gong. She said,

The physical is fed enough because we have been feeding flesh for such a long time and forgetting to feed ourselves emotionally.

“I feel that there is no better time than now to focus on matters that are not tangible and parts of ourselves that we always disregard.” 

I started conceptualising this album about 2016 and 2017, when most of us were shaken by the news of Karabo [Mokoena] being murdered by her ex-boyfriend and other news of femicide.

“I was so angry and scared, feeling like no-one out there is looking out for me (as a woman), so I wrote most of the songs from a woman’s perspective — a day in the life of a black woman living in SA in fear,” 

Buhlebendalo – Chosi Album Official Stream/Download Links

Apple MusicSpotifyDeezeriTunes Amazon TidalYouTube Music

Back to top button