Metro FM Music Awards Nominees & Winners Full List

The 17th Metro FM Music Awards were held at Mbombela Stadium in Mpumalanga on Saturday night. The late South African rapper AKA was the greatest winner, taking home four of the six categories in which he was nominated. For his song “Lemonade” with Nasty C, AKA, born Kiernan Forbes, received posthumous awards for Best Hip-Hop Artist, Best Male Artist, Best Collaboration Song, and Artist of the Year. Family members of the late musician, including his daughter Kairo, accepted the honors on his behalf. Investigations into the shooting deaths of AKA and his companion Tebello Motsoane in February in Durban are still ongoing.

The Best Kwaito/Gqom Song, Best Music Video, Best Amapiano Song, and Best Viral Challenge categories were won by Deep London and DJ Tira twice each. In addition to Musa Keys, Ndunduzo Makhathini, Betusile Mcinga, and ZukoSA, other winners in various categories included Makhadzi, who took home the prize for Best Female Artist. Several celebrities, including rapper 25k, Sjava, Inkabi Nation, and Nomfundo Moh, performed for the audience at the occasion.

Following claims of corruption and a lack of support for regional musicians by radio stations, as emphasized by rapper Riky Rick at the 2017 ceremonies, the awards were not presented for the first time in five years. The musical group Mafikizolo received the first Dr. Esther Mahlangu Lifetime Award at this year’s ceremony.

Nada Wotshela, the head of radio at SABC, praised the event as “the biggest and most prestigious music award ceremony on the South African entertainment calendar” and said it “recognizes and celebrates diversity in music, art, fashion, and culture.”

See the full list of nominees and winners below:

Category Winner Nominees
Song of the Year Betusile Mcinga – ‘Ngena Noah’ K.O – ‘SETE’
AKA – ‘Lemons (Lemonade)’
Konke & Musa Keys – ‘Kancane’
Aymos – ‘Fatela’
Big Nuz – ‘Ngeke’
Kabza De Small – ‘Khusela’
Gaba Cannal – ‘Healer Ntlizivo Yam’
Siava – ‘Isoka’
Wanitwa Mos – ‘Sofa Silahlane’
Best Afrosoul Pop Zuko SA – ‘Andikalibali’ Siava – ‘Isibuko’
Brenda Mtambo – ‘Enza Kwenzeke’
Inkabi Nation – ‘Voicemail’
Mlindo The Vocalist – ‘Lindokuhle’
Best Amapiano Song Deep London – ‘Hamba Wena’ Gaba Cannal – ‘Healer Ntliziyo Yam’
Kabza De Small – ‘Khusela’
Daliwonga – ‘Abo Mvelo’
Wanitwa Mos – ‘Sofa Silahlane’
Artist of the Year AKA – ‘Lemons (Lemonade)’ K.O – ‘Sete’
Wanitwa Mos – ‘Sofa Silahlane’
Nomfundo Moh – ‘Izibusiso’
Siava – ‘Isoka’
Best Jazz Album Nduduzo Makhathini – In the Spirit of Ntu Linda Sikhakhane – Isambulo
Spartz – AWAKE
Best New Age R&B Artist MOE. – ‘Me Ever After’ Manana – ‘Patiently’
ThandoNie – ‘Our Story: Untold’
Venom & Shishiliza – ‘uThando’
Zädok – ‘Othanda Mina’
Best Collaboration Song AKA ft. Nasty C – ‘Lemons (Lemonade)’ K.O ft. Young Stunna & Blxckie – ‘Sete’
Aymos ft. Ami Faku – ‘Asanda’
Sjava ft. Q Twinz & Mzukulu – ‘Isoka’
Best Duo or Group Inkabi Nation – ‘Voice Mail’ Mafikizolo – ‘Kwanele’
Big Nuz – ‘Ngeke’
Mellow & Sleazy – ‘Wenza Kanjani’
Kwesta and Kabza De Small – ‘Mrholo Wayizolo’
Best Female Artist Makhadzi – ‘African Queen 2.0’ Nomfundo Moh – ‘Izibusiso’
Simmy – ‘Hlelo’
Brenda Mtambo – ‘Enza Kwenzeke’
HLE – ‘You’re The Worthy One’
Best Gospel Album Pastor Lungi Ndala – Victorious Praise Dumi Mkokstad – The Over Flow, Soweto Gospel Choir – Hope, Khava Mthethwa – Art & Worship, Kingdmusic – Perfect Love
Best Hip Hop Artist AKA – ‘Mass Country’ K.O – ‘SR3’
Nasty C – ‘Ivyson Army Tour Mixtape’
Blxckie – ‘The4Mula’
Maglera Doe Boy – ‘Diaspora’
Best House Song Skye Wanda – ‘Amazwi’ Kususa, Argento Dust & Zakes Bantwini – ‘Asanda’
Mthandazo Gatya ft. Nhlonipho – ‘Sizobambana’
Karyendasoul ft. Ami Faku – ‘Umthandazo’
CAIIRO ft. Pixie L – ‘Lwandile’
Best Kwaito/Gqom Song DJ Tira – ‘Sikilidi’ Big Nuz – ‘Ngeke’
Kwesta and Kabza De Small – ‘Mrholo Wayizolo’
Spikiri – ‘Tana La’
Professor – ‘Ezangakini’
Best Male Artist AKA – ‘Lemons (Lemonade)’ K.O – ‘SETE’
Kabza De Small – ‘Khusela’
Siava – ‘Isoka’
Mthandazo Gatya – ‘Sizobambana’
New Artist COCOSA – ‘I Never Thought’ Oufadafada – ‘I can’t Give Up’
Group Chat – ‘Mama’
Mayten – ‘Wait On Me’
Tee Tee – ‘Andizenzi’
Styled Artist Musa Keys Mafikizolo
Sino Msolo
Best Music Video DJ Tira – ‘Sikilidi’ K.O – ‘SETE’
AKA – ‘Lemons (Lemonade)’
Wanitwa Mos – ‘Sofa Silahlane’
Costa Titch – ‘Big Flexa Remix’
Best Viral Challenge Deep London ft. Boole – ‘Hamba Wena’ DJ Maphorisa & Visca – ‘Ba Straata’
Felo Le Tee & Toss – ‘Manca’
Mytro ft. Focalistic, Daliwonga, Shaunmusiq, Ftears – ‘Tobetsa’
K.O. ft Young Stunna and Blxckie – ‘SETE’


Back to top button