Unveiled: South Africa Literary Awards (SALA) Winners List 2023

Back in October, the South Africa Literary Awards unveiled its shortlist. It’s November now and the winners are out. expectedly, some were gold and some were dross – not every shortlisted work ended up winning.

Tuesday, November 7, 2023, came with a lot of promise for South African authors shortlisted for the SALA. The winners were announced at the University of North West, Potchefstroom, giving them reasons to celebrate and probably put in more work to continue to stand out.

The award is given in multiple categories, including

  • Children’s Literature Award.
  • Youth Literature Award.
  • First-Time Published Author Award.
  • K Sello Duiker Memorial Award.
  • Poetry Award.
  • Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award.
  • Creative Non-Fiction Award.
  • Novel Award.

This years award winners are as follow:

Children’s Literature Award

  • Sinathi Mpukwana, Unakho
  • Molebatsi Bosilong, Montsane le Motho
  • Philip de Vos, Tokkelossiebossie en ander dol gedoentes
  • Claudette Browne Storrar, Nelly and Sam Thwala

First Time Published Award

  • Ayanda Chris Mntwapi, Bohlulwe Kukusa
  • Ntloro Charlotte Pebane, Lerato la Lepheko
  • Shevlyn Mottai, Across the Kala Pani

Poetry Award

  • Kaka Mokakale, Tswina ya poko
  • Anelisa Thengimfene, Amajingiqhiw’ entlalo
  • Michèle Betty, Dark Horse

Novel Award

  • Sue Nyathi, An Angel’s Demise
  • Thivhusiwi G Tshindane Tshivhulax, Hone Hu Tshi Tea U Maliwa Nga Vhugai?
  • Kobate John Sekele, Re Hwile la Pitsana

Since its founding in 2005, the award has honoured several authors, including Sabata Mpho Mokae, Nadine Gordimer, Miriam Tlali, Lauretta Ngcobo, Keorapetse Willie Kgositsile, Wally Mongane Serote, Sindiwe Magona, Zakes Mda, Panashe Chigumadzi, and Phillippa Yaa de Villiers.

Other winners are Sihle Khumalo, Nuruddin Farah, and Zukiswa Wanner.

Back to top button