Wizkid Wins “Best African Act” At The 2021 MTV EMAs, See Full List Of Winners

Nigerian singer has been crowned the winner in the Best African Act category of the MTV Europe Music Awards (MTV EMA) 2021.

Starboy had been nominated for that category alongside fellow Nigerian Tems, as well as Amaarae of  Ghana, Focalistic of South Africa, and Diamond Platnumz of Tanzania.

The award event aired on the MTV network in over 180 countries. The event witnessed live performances by some fine figures in global pop. At the end of the day Wizkid, a one-timer Grammy Award winner, had scooped the Best African Act scudetto.

A delighted had shared his gratitude in a recorded speech which was delivered virtually. In the speech, he thanked the organizers of the award as well as his fans, for their support.

Wizkid has come a long way as a musician on the African continent. From an obscure artiste and part of a child band he founded, he has emerged as one of the leading figures on the Afrobeats scene in Africa and one of the most respected musical voices on the continent, too.

His MTV EMA triumph is but one of several wins he has scooped since he began his music career more than a decade ago. Some solidarity.

Full Winners List

Best African Act

  • Amaarae
  • Diamond Platnumz
  • Focalistic
  • Tems
  • Wizkid

Best Artist

  • Doja Cat
  • Ed Sheeran
  • Justin Bieber
  • Lady Gaga
  • Lil Nas X
  • The Weeknd

Best Pop

  • Doja Cat
  • Dua Lipa
  • Ed Sheeran
  • Justin Bieber
  • Olivia Rodrigo

Best Song

  • Doja Cat ft. SZA – Kiss Me More
  • Ed Sheeran – Bad Habits
  • Justin Bieber – Peaches ft. Daniel Caesar, Giveon
  • Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)
  • Olivia Rodrigo – Drivers License
  • The Kid LAROI, Justin Bieber – STAY

Best Video

  • Doja Cat ft. SZA – Kiss Me More
  • Ed Sheeran – Bad Habits
  • Justin Bieber – Peaches ft. Daniel Caesar, Giveon
  • Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)
  • Normani ft. Cardi B – Wild SideTaylor Swift – willow

Best Collaboration

  • Black Eyed Peas, Shakira – Girl Like Me
  • Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic – Leave the Door Open
  • Doja Cat ft. SZA – Kiss Me More
  • Lil Nas X, Jack Harlow – Industry Baby
  • The Kid LAROI, Justin Bieber – Stay
  • The Weeknd & Ariana Grande – Save Your Tears (Remix)

Best New

  • Giveon
  • Griff
  • Olivia Rodrigo
  • Rauw Alejandro
  • Saweetie
  • The Kid LAROI

Best Electronic

  • Calvin Harris
  • David Guetta
  • Joel Corry
  • Marshmello
  • Skrillex
  • Swedish House Mafia

Best Rock

  • Coldplay
  • Foo Fighters
  • Imagine Dragons
  • Kings Of Leon
  • Måneskin
  • The Killers

Best Alternative

  • Halsey
  • Lorde
  • Machine Gun Kelly
  • Twenty One Pilots
  • Yungblud

Best Latin

  • Bad Bunny
  • J. Balvin
  • Maluma
  • Rauw Alejandro
  • Rosalía
  • Shakira

Best Hip Hop

  • Cardi B
  • DJ Khaled
  • Drake
  • Kanye West
  • Megan Thee Stallion
  • Nicki Minaj

Best K-Pop

  • LISA
  • Monsta X
  • NCT 127
  • Rose
  • Twice

Best Group

  • Imagine Dragons
  • Jonas Brothers
  • Little Mix
  • Måneskin
  • Silk Sonic

Best Push

  • 24KGoldn
  • Fousheé
  • girl in red
  • Griff
  • JC Stewart
  • JXDN
  • Latto
  • Madison Beer
  • Olivia Rodrigo
  • Remi Wolf
  • The Kid LAROI

Biggest Fans

  • Ariana Grande
  • Justin Bieber
  • Lady Gaga
  • Taylor Swift

Video for Good

  • Billie Eilish – Your Power
  • Demi Lovato – Dancing With The Devil
  • girl in red – Serotonin
  • H.E.R. – Fight For You
  • Harry Styles – Treat People With Kindness
  • Lil Nas X – MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)

MTV EMA Generation Change Award

  • Amir Ashour
  • Matthew Blaise
  • Sage Dolan-Sandrino
  • Erika Hilton
  • Viktória Radványi
Back to top button