DJ Fresh and Relebogile Mabotja Emerge Winners At The Radio Awards

DJ Fresh and Relebogile Mabotja, and more were winners at the recently held Radio Awards

Check out the big winners at the recently held Radio Awards including, DJ Fresh, Relebogile Mabotja and more.

If you haven’t noticed, everything is done online these days. From music performances, talk shows and most recently, award shows. The Annual Radio Awards was recently held online and hosted by Loyiso Madingo. The Awards show has been successfully held annually for about 10 years now.

This year’s version of the event held yesterday, Friday, 17 April and saw DJ Fresh, Relebogile Mabotja, Kaya 95.9 FM, Radio 2000 and more walk away with big wins. Thomas Msengana and Pearl Modiadie won the Daytime Show Award, DJ Fresh – Afternoon Drive Presenter Award, and News Bulletin Reader Award went to Relebogile Mabotja from MetroFM.

Ligwalagwala FM snagged the My Station Most Votes Award, while Hot 91.9 won My Station Loyal Listeners Award. Station of the Year awards went to Kaya 95.9 FM (commercial), Radio 2000 (PBS), Hot 91.9 FM (Community), and Tuks FM (Campus).

Taryn Westoby, Head of Events for Arena Events, in a statement to TshisaLIVE congratulated the winners saying,

“It’s been a challenging period in the face of the Covid-19 pandemic, and making The Radio Awards happen this year – albeit on an online platform – has meant the tireless work of radio stations around the country can be highlighted at a time when good news is really welcomed.

“This year’s awards would not have happened as successfully without firm commitment from numerous individuals. We’d like to thank the members of our advisory board, the adjudication panel, BDO South Africa and the National Association of Broadcasters for giving their time to ensure The Radio Awards remain relevant, credible and independent. A high bar has been set for 2021, and we look forward to the year ahead.”

Back to top button