Kabza De Small & Mthunzi “Isimo” Album Review

An Extensive Review Of Kabza De Small & Mthunzi's "Isimo" Album

Kabza De Small & Mthunzi “Isimo” Album Review

A review of Kabza De Small’s latest album effort titled “Isimo” with Mthunzi.


Kabza De Small & Mthunzi

  • Genre: Amapiano
  • Date: 27 Oct, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 9
  • ℗ 2023 South Africa – Piano Hub , exclusively distributed under Sony Music Entertainment Africa (Pty) Ltd

The art of making great albums isn’t something that eludes Kabza De Small. He excels at it, and that’s why he has been labeled one of the frontline hitmakers for the Piano scene. It’s also been an excellent year for the Piano King, who continues to take the sound everywhere around the world.

He has been credited for his contributions to some of the biggest hits on the airwaves this year. Kabza teamed up with Stakev and dropped the “Rekere” album. The project was well received, and it housed sixteen tracks, featuring several hitmakers. He also did a great job with “The Konka Mixtape: Sweet & Dust.”

It housed 25 tracks featuring some big hitmakers who were happy to enjoy good music with him. Mthunzi’s last time dropping a project was in 2020 when he released “Selimathunzi” a bit after the New Year. The project showed fans his kind of music and all that he’s about.

He has also spent the year collaborating with some of his colleagues. He has dropped collabs with Group Chat, Azana, and Veena. Each of his releases has earned him praise from fans.

Cover Art

One thing we can always credit Kabza De Small for is his creativity. The star has been showing it off with his projects for years now. The “Isimo” cover art isn’t something one can ignore. It is as creative as it gets. We particularly love how the smoke spells out the title of the album.

It is also eye-catching and makes you want to look close. Some might say it makes them want to listen to the music. It might also give the impression that the song you’re about to listen to will take you to a new high.

On October 30, Kabza De Small and Mthunzi released the first single from the “Isimo” album. The song was titled “Isibusiso” and did not include any guest features. You’d think it would be everyone’s primary focus following the album’s release, but another song seemed to take the crown.

“Imithandazo,” featuring Young Stunna, DJ Maphorisa, Sizwe Alakine, and Umthakathi Kush, has been the best-performing song on the album. “Amazwe” featuring MaWhoo, “Impumelelo” featuring Young Stunna, and “Asifanelene” have become fan favourites since the album dropped. That’s a pretty remarkable number for a new album.

Tracklist & Features

One thing that Kabza De Small always does with his albums is to put enough songs that the fans can enjoy. His previous “The Konka Mixtape: Sweet & Dust” project housed 25 tracks. However, with the “Isimo” album, he and Mthunzi kept things short. The album housed nine tracks and featured some well-known hitmakers who have often worked with Kabza on his previous projects.

The featured acts include Young Stunna, MaWhoo, DJ Maphorisa, Sizwe Alakine, and Umthakathi Kush. Young Stunna and MaWhoo contribute to two different tracks each on the album. Kabza and Mthunzi did most of the work themselves and still earned praise for it.

1Impumelelo (feat. Young Stunna)7:47
2Amazwe (feat. MaWhoo)7:43
4Imithandazo (feat. Young Stunna, DJ Maphorisa, Sizwe Alakine & Umthakathi Kush)5:51
6Bonga (feat. MaWhoo)7:56
7Umoya Wami7:41
8Deep Kiss7:22



One thing is evident on the “Isimo” album that: Kabza De Small and Mthunzi planned the sound and musical direction of the project. While they did most of the work on the album, it wasn’t clogged with guests like some Piano albums usually are. Also, they went for a more chilled sound, which some of the featured acts helped them achieve.

Kabza De Small and Mawhoo’s “Isimo” album was released on 27 October 2023 and has already earned praise from fans. It’s the kind of project that stays with you and makes you want to listen again and again. You should hear it.